This Is Just The Beginning

graph 1

Upon completing Living & Working on the Web, as per the self test above, one can clearly notice the improvements in my digital capabilities. However life is a journey and one must always be constantly improving, hence I included a rating for the near future.


Here are the evidence of my change before and after #MANG2049

Facebook

Before

fb pic topic 6

After

fb3

In relation to ‘managing your online identity’ from the self test, I applied what I learned from Topic 2 which is to manage my multiple online identities in a positive way, having a goal of making it look professional rather than personal. Hiding drunk and #TGIF pictures is definitely the way to go!

Twitter

Before

Consequent to this module, I used twitter solely as a normal social communication tool. However after exploring the capabilities of it through the module, I realized that it is a very useful tool for job seekers and is also a platform where recruitment officers scout for your personal lifestyle.

After

twitter topic 6

twitter job

Not only is twitter useful in searching for jobs, it also contributes in ones overall professional digital image. I was rather surprised that my WordPress link was viewed by a twitter follower which in turn liked one of my blog topics! This further emphasize the fact that what we post online can be seen by practically anyone!

This can be seen here in the case of ‘Upshot’

upshot 2

upshot

WordPress

Before

I was conscious of the blogging scene however I didn’t had the chance to partake in it, nonetheless after the module, the change was shocking.

blog before

After

blog 2

As one can see, I was astonished by the views from the United States and Australia. In regard to the self test, I learned to ‘Building online networks around an area of interest’ and ‘Creating online materials’ that is being appreciated even by total strangers! Reinforcing the concept of ‘Open Access’ from Topic 5.

LinkedIn

Before

I am guilty of convincing myself that LinkedIn is a fruitless tool. This is because it takes time to build up a decent profile and I was rather lazy. However over the module, my mindset was swiftly changed.

After

1.png

Adopting the skills learned from Topic 3, I developed my very own LinkedIn profile to ‘All Star’. Besides creating a platform to showcase myself, I learned that in order to stand out, one must actually utilize the profile to participate and generate content. Be it in the forms of groups or connections.

This can be seen here

linked in group

This goes in line with the ‘Collaborating with others’ and ‘Participating in online communities’ aspect in the self test. Further reinforcing my stated point above regarding utilization of social tools.


 

How do I plan to take this forward!

Please watch the video that I created to understand my plans for the future

utube

Short Summary of the video

One must not only be pro-active to gain exposure from the jobs, we must also record the moments and experience to translate it into digital portfolios like Pinterest and Pathbrite for example.

My personal goals in relation to the video:

  • Constantly developing my LinkedIn profile by adding accomplishments and new skills
  • Have at least 3 connections per week and participate in groups at least once a week
  • Keep a look out for other relevant social platform to use
  • Always keep in mind that its the mindset of constant learning and the skill of adaptability that will make me successful and relevant in the future
  • Achieve my future goals in the self test above

 

Here are  the links to my digital profiles

download (1)

downloadtwitter_iconunnameddownload

 

 

 

(560 words)

Leave a comment